Experiment

I began this story as an experiment when I was 16. Previously I had been working on an epic high fantasy, which I began when I was 14. After 30000 words I realised that I was not old or wise enough to do the story justice. So I began a new story. A simpler story. I just wanted to know if I could do it. I wanted to know if I could pass the 30k mark and keep going until I was at the end. I wanted to follow through on a whim. That experimental, supposedly simple story grew until it was a complicated beast full of all my fears and all my fascinations. What began as a little experiment eventually evolved into an eight-year journey.

I am ready for the journey to end.

I do not want to wait for anyone else any more. I want to set my little book free so that I can finally work on something new. That is part of the reason why I have chosen to self-publish – so I can move on, so I can grow.

This publishing process is another experiment in itself. I do not know if it will work. But I hope to learn from any mistakes I make along the way.

Leave a Reply

