The First Week, So Far

 

It’s only been a few days since I uploaded my novel to Amazon (you can buy it HERE) but already I’m very happy with how it’s going.

I thought it would be scary, putting my little heart and soul out there for anyone to download, but I actually feel incredibly at ease. It’s only in hindsight that I see how miserable the editing process had made me. Now that the book is out there, I feel like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders. The misery was worth it though; I’m confident I have put out my best possible product.

Everyone has been very supportive.  Friends have been ferociously reblogging,  retweeting and facebooking. Entire workplaces have been inundated with emails. I’m pretty sure half the Queensland Government has been notified through their various departments now. Thanks everyone!

I’m going to focus on getting reviews for now. But I only want REAL reviews. I’ve been hearing some awful accounts of indie authors creating multiple fake accounts in order to give themselves a heap of five star reviews. I’ve also seen authors vilify reviewers who have given them a negative review. I don’t want to take part in any of this bullshit. You are allowed to dislike my book. You can even hate it if that’s how you truly feel. I’m prepared to take the good with the bad and I’m not going to embarrass myself by getting in a huff about it.

It’s going to be a long and rather slow road, and I won’t be quitting my day job any time soon. But I knew it would be like this. I’ve never really expected to be a best seller. What I would like, though, is a little bit of cult status. I would love this book to really mean something to people, even if it’s not many people. I want people to connect with it, to see themselves in it, and take comfort in the knowledge that they are not alone.

And then I want them to cosplay as my characters at conventions and write dirty fan fiction!

 

 

3 responses to “The First Week, So Far

Leave a Reply

