The Key To Bassisha

In How To Disappear Completely, Lycia receives a key which opens a trapdoor into a bizarre world. Later in the novel, she strings the key onto a chain and wears it around her neck.

I wanted to make a necklace just like hers. So I trawled through Etsy and Ebay searching for key charms that most resembled what I had imagined in my story. Sounds simple enough, but let me tell you there are a LOT of key charms in the world.

Eventually, I found what I was looking for. The key is gold in the novel, but I personally prefer silver, so…

 

 

It’s only a little key (hard to take a photo of me wearing it without it turning into a gratuitous boob shot) which is good if you, like me, have a tendency to injure your chin on necklaces when sneezing (my antler necklace is the worst).

What do you think? The charms are available in other colours too, so I could possibly make more if anyone was interested in a little bit of HTDC merch.

Leave a Reply

