Polarizing Perspectives

Let me preface the following post with this: I will never criticize someone for not liking my book. People who have read it are entitled to any opinion they please. It’s totally okay if someone wants to tell me they didn’t like it. Of course, it’s also okay if someone wants to tell me they did like it. But anyway…

I don’t get many reviews for my novel, but this week I just so happened to receive two, and I couldn’t help but be amused at how perfectly they complimented each other. The first reviewer said they disliked the beginning of the book, but enjoyed the ending more. The second review liked the beginning, but disliked the ending.

It helped to remind me that everyone has different opinions, tastes, likes and dislikes. You will never please everyone, and if you try to you will end up pleasing no one.

I think it is important for writers to keep this in mind. A writer is going to face a lot of rejection and criticism throughout their career. You just have to keep it in perspective.

 

 

Leave a Reply

