A reminder for myself

I’m really struggling on this second draft of my novel. The first draft was relatively easy, because I gave myself permission to write a a really shitty draft. It was liberating.

But now I’m scared. I feel like this time around I have to make it perfect. That first sentence has to be the b est damn first sentence of any book ever! And every sentence after that has got to be perfect so the reader keeps on reading, right? How the hell do I do that?

I’m being way too hard on myself. Remember, the second draft is allowed to be a bit shit too. As long as it’s not a shit as the first. Just got to keep building on those foundations, fill in the gaps, smooth the surfaces.

One foot in front of the other. One sentence at a time. One word at a time.

I’ll get there.

Gzk9U

Leave a Reply

