Pace

So I’ve had a chance to read through my manuscript now. I’m happy to say that it isn’t completely terrible! I mean, it’s certainly not great, but at least it isn’t so awful that I wanted to set my computer on fire and walk into the ocean.

I still have a LOT of work to do!

The process for writing this story has been completely different to how I wrote my first novel, so I’m still learning as I go. One thing that’s become apparent is just how messed up my pacing is. When I first write a scene, it feels like it’s progressing at a reasonable pace because my typing isn’t super fast. However, when I actually read it, I can see that things are moving much too quickly. Huge events are happening in a single paragraph. Characters are zooming from one scenario to another in the blink of an eye. I began with such a bare-bones draft that it’s still gaunt even after I’ve put some meat on it. Turns out I need a bit of fat on it too.

So I know what I have to do to make this story flourish. Of course, knowing what you need to do and actually doing it are two very different things. Tomorrow I will commence fleshing things out and slowing things down. Hopefully I will have a strong manuscript at the end.

Also I think I’m going to change the title…

Leave a Reply

